I wrote a blog recently pertaining to fourteen teens getting sick from possibly laced gummy bears. As a raw food vegan, I am always learning about how products are made. I decided to find out how and what gummy bears are made from.
Basically, gummy bears are made mostly from gelatin you would find in Jello for example. However, this gelatin is then created by boiling animal bones, skin, and tendons. One large ingredient is collagen.
Collagen is a protein found in quite a few animals including us humans. Collagen is what makes your skin elastic. If a product such as gummy bears includes Gelatin than it is NOT vegan.
There are some vegan made candies with substances such as Cellulose also known as Amid, Agar Agar, Biobin, Guar, Xanthan, Carob fruit, etc. These substances allow an elastic texture similar to Gelatin. If a product lists Gelatin as an ingredient, then that product is NOT vegan.
Manufacturers use strong acid or strong base to break down ground up bones, hooves, connective tissues, skin, tendons, etc. A popular short video titled Gelatin The Real Story has received millions of views on the Internet. This is a quick primer of how Gummy Bears and other candies with Gelatin are made. Finally, Gummy Bears include corn syrup, sugar, water, food coloring, and citric acid and fruit juice flavorings.
About Author Aaron J. Berg
Aaron J. Berg is the creator of this Veganarchism blog, host of the Veganarchism podcast, and Veganarchism video content creator. He started blogging and speaking against the system back in 2009. Now he blogs, podcasts, and produces video content for your benefit.